Every state that legalizes medical marijuana has a different set of criteria for getting a doctor’s recommendation. Florida is no exception. In this article, I’ll let you know what the laws are surrounding Florida medical marijuana, and I’ll also show you a new and awesome way to get your recommendation without even leaving your house.
Compassionate Care Act
The Compassionate Care Act is the piece of Florida legislation that makes medical marijuana possible. It was first made into law in 2014. Then, in 2016 voters decided expanded to include a larger list of qualifying medical conditions. This new list of conditions went into effect on January 3, 2017.
So, the Compassionate Care Act now makes marijuana a possible solution for many more Floridians, but it’s still not a free for all. What medical conditions are approved for medical marijuana? The next section is going to cover all of this.
Approved Medical Conditions
Licensed doctors can prescribe medical marijuana to patients who have ‘Debilitating Medical Conditions’. The specific conditions listed are:
- Crohn’s disease
- Parkinson’s disease
- multiple sclerosis
This list has allowed doctors to provide much-needed medication to some of Florida’s patients, however, an expanded definition for qualifying conditions was needed in order to make marijuana available to a greater number of patients who needed it.
The Compassionate Care Act now includes “other debilitating medical conditions of the same kind or class as or comparable to those enumerated“. This gives physicians the ability to provide medical marijuana to any condition that they feel is as debilitating as those already listed. This expands the list to include conditions such as:
- Severe Nausea
The list above is far from complete since doctors now have more discretion for who the prescribe a marijuana recommendation. Click here for a longer list of approved conditions.
Getting a Recommendation
If you have one of the qualifying conditions then you still have to get a recommendation from a licensed physician. One issue many people face is their primary care physicians won’t prescribe medical marijuana. This is mostly because marijuana is still illegal federally. So, most often it’s easier to obtain a recommendation from a doctor that specializes in medical marijuana.
Before you begin the process it’s important to note that you have to see a doctor for at least 90 days before they can give you a marijuana recommendation. This is true no matter how you go about obtaining your recommendation.
Now, you have two choices here. The first choice is you could find a doctor that specialized in cannabis then you could spend the next 3 months going back and forth from their office while they determine if you have an approved condition. If that sounds like no fun, it’s because it isn’t.
Your other option is to see a doctor online. Wait, really? Yes, you can meet with a doctor online from the comfort of your own home. It’s called telemedicine and it’s taking all the pain out of getting your recommendation. It’s basically a video conference call that puts you one on one with a licensed physician. Want to see how easy it is? All you got to do is click this link to get a Florida medical marijuana recommendation online.
We’ve already seen medical marijuana help people across the country. It’s great to see Florida open their conditions up to give doctors more autonomy when treating patients. Perhaps the most difficult part of Florida’s Compassionate Care Act is the fact that you have to see a doctor for 90 days. Thankfully, telemedicine made possible through myfloridagreen.com has taken the hassle out of getting a recommendation.